For more information click on Events in Tool Bar

 35th Annual Meeting
Glade Springs Resort
Beckley, WV
June 14, 15, & 16, 2017


Substantive Group
Lunchtime Meetings


For more information click on Events in Tool Bar

Business/Commercial Law


Construction Law

 November 9, 2016


Employment Law

Energy Law

Insurance Law

Medical Liability

Product Liability

 Safety and Health

Workers’ Compensation

For more information on meetings listed above please contact pschultz@dtcwv.org



WV Law Updates

Reprint of State Court Rules

In August a reprint of the 2016 Michie's West Virginia State Court Rules volume was issued.  Due to errors and omissions in the previously issued 2016 volume, as well as the supplement thereto, this reprint completely replaces the January softbound volume AND the May 2016 softbound supplement for the state court rules.

Remember that the print version is only as current as the last edition or supplement's publication date.  For the most current, up-to-date version of West Virginia Rules of Court, always rely upon
those on the Court's website at 


Legal Education Reporting Period
 The current reporting period began July 1, 2014, and will end June 30, 2016. There is a 30-day grace period so credits completed in the month of July may be carried back to meet the 2014-2016 requirement.  As long as all required credits are completed and filed by July 31, 2016, there is no penalty. Credits filed after July 31, 2016, will require a $50 late filing fee. Credits filed after September 30, 2016, will require a $100 late filing fee.

            Please login to www.mywvbar.org and download your transcript. Reporting period dates and requirements are listed on the top of transcripts.  Please be advised that we have attempted to delete all duplicate entries. If you have a duplicate entry or if any of your credits need to be edited, please contact Hope Gresham at greshamh@wvbar.org. If you do not have a password for www.mywvbar.org, please click here to request a new password.


  Position Available in American Bar Association House of Delegates
West Virginia has been allotted an additional spot in the American Bar Association's House of Delegates.  The spot is for a young lawyer.  Under ABA Guidelines, a young lawyer is an attorney who is 35 years of age or younger or who has been in practice less than five years.  If you qualify as a young lawyer and are interested in being considered for the position, which will begin after the August, 2016, annual meeting and will run through the August 2018, annual meeting, please submit your interest to Anita R. Casey at caseya@wvbar.org.  Currently the State ABA members' delegate is Judge John Bailey of Wheeling (judge_john_bailey@wvnd.uscourts.gov).

The State Bar's delegate is Debra Scudiere of Morgantown (dscudiere@kaycasto.com).  Either Judge Bailey or Ms. Scudiere, or YLS Executive Committee Chairperson Jasmine Morton (jasminemorton@gmail.com) would be happy to respond to any inquiries you may have.  Applications will be accepted through June 30, 2016. To review the ABA House of Delegate Reimbursement Rules click here

Corrections to Rules of Professional Conduct and Lawyer Disciplinary Procedure
  The West Virginia State Bar and the Office of Disciplinary Council want to notify attorneys that certain sections of Michie's West Virginia Code Annotated, State Court Rules 2016 are incorrect. Correct links to the incorrect sections are as follows: 
Lawyer Disciplinary Procedure 3.29
Rules of Professional Conduct 1.14
Rules of Professional Conduct 7.1 

Annual Meeting Sponsors


Please patronize our 
2016 34th annual meeting sponsors. 
here for the complete
list and links to websites




Member News

DTCWV 2016-2017 Officers Selected

The 2016-2017 DTCWV officers were voted upon during the DTCWV Annual Meeting in Myrtle Beach, SC last week.  The new officers are:
Jill Cranston Rice, President
Dinsmore & Shohl, LLP, Morgantown
Jill McIntyre, Vice President
Jackson Kelly PLLC, Charleston
Erik Legg, Treasurer
White & Legg, PLLC, Huntington
Mark Hayes, Secretary
Robinson & McElwee, PLLC, Charleston
Jeffrey Holmstrand, Immediate Past President Grove, Holmstrand & Delk, PLLC,  Wheeling

Newly appointed Board of Governors' members were:


David Givens
Flaherty Sensabaugh & Bonasso PLLC, Wheeling
Tracy Rohrbaugh
Bowles Rice, LLP, Martinsburg
Elisabeth Rose
Rose Padden Petty Taylor & Lily, L.C., Fairmont, 
Briana Marino, Babst, Calland, Clements & Zomnir, P.C., Charleston was appointed as the new Young Lawyer representative.



Laurie Barbe Receives
President's Award

Laurie Barbe, Steptoe & Johnson PLLC, Morgantown, has received the President's Award during the DTCWV 34th Annual Meeting in Myrtle Beach, WV
Immediate Past Past President Jeffrey Holmstrand presented the award to Laurie durng the Tuesday banquet.  This award may be given at the sole discretion of the President for someone who has served DTCWV and the organized defense bar.

Congratulations Laurie!

Lee Murray Hall
Receives DTCWV
  Defense Attorney of the Year Award      


Lee Murray Hall, Jenkins Fenstermaker, PLLC, Huntington received this prestigious award during the DTCWV 34th Annual Meeting  held this week in Myrtle Beach, SC.  The announcement was truly a total surprise to the well deserving Huntington attorney.  Lee is a past president of DTCWV and is involved in numerous local, state and national organizations.

The Nominating Committee received nominations from membership for the award.

Congratulations Lee!



Young Lawyer of the Year

Katrina N. Bowers




The Civil Justice Report



Defense Trial Counsel of West Virginia
P. O. Box 527, Charleston, WV 25322-0527
304-344-1611, 304-344-4711 fax